Federal Skilled Trades program has been implemented to help ensure that Canada’s immigration system works for employers in need of skilled trade persons.

This program is for people who want to become permanent residents based on being qualified in a skill trade.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada will accept no more than 3,000 complete applications for processing in the first year (from January 2, 2013 to January 1, 2014) and applications under certain occupations will have a 100 of sub-cap. Please refer to the below link for more detailed information.

Federal Skilled Trade will be evaluated based on the following four criteria:

• Meeting the required levels in English or French (speaking, reading, writing and listening)
• Having at least two years of full-time work experience (or an equal amount of part time) in a skilled trade within the five years before you apply
• Meeting all job requirements for that skilled trade as set out in the National Occupation Classification
• Having an offer of full-time employment for a total period of at least one year OR a certificate of qualification in that skilled trade issued by a provincial or territorial body

More information about the certificate of qualification issued by a provincial or territorial body can be found HERE.


National Occupation Classification Requirements (NOC)

Skilled Trades currently eligible for this program are organized under these major groups of the NOC:

• Group 72, industrial, electrical and construction trades
• Group 73, maintenance and equipment operation trades
• Group 82, supervisors and technical jobs in natural resources, agriculture and related production
• Group 92, processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators

Note: Occupation list in demand, assessment policy and pass mark have been changed frequently by the labor market in Canada, so check any updates from CIC and we strongly recommend you to see a certified consultant.


Application Processes


FSTP Application Processes